Graduate Program Committees

Steering Committee

  • Trey Ideker (School of Medicine), Program Director
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology), Associate Director
  • Gene Yeo (Cellular and Molecular Medicine), Associate Director
  • Ruben Abagyan (Pharmacy)
  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Steve Briggs (Biology)
  • Hannah Carter (Division of Medical Sciences), Admissions Chair
  • Joseph Ecker (Biological Sciences)
  • Olivier Harismendy (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Pavel Pevzner (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Bing Ren (Cellular and Molecular Medicine)
  • Shankar Subramaniam (Bioengineering)
  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics)
  • Daniela Nachmanson (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Jonathan Pekar (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Michelle Ragsac (BISB Graduate Student)

Curriculum Committee

Review core and elective class offerings.
Plan incoming student bootcamp.
Advise director on student petitions.

  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics), Committee Chair
  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Julie Law (Salk Institute)
  • Wei Wang (Chemistry and Biochemistry)
  • Sheng Zhong (Bioengineering)

Outreach and Student Affairs Committee

Keeping course catalog and website up to date.
Keeping records of student publications and other records relevant to Training grant.
Rotation reports, including faculty research projects.
Alumni tracking.
Develop extra-mural links of the Program.

  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics), Committee Chair
  • Niema Moshiri (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Shankar Subramaniam (Bioengineering)
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology)
  • TBA (Student Members)

Colloquium Committee

Select speakers for the Genetics, Bioinformatics, and Systems Biology Colloquium.

  • Joseph Gleeson (Neurosciences, School of Medicine), Faculty Chair
  • Lina Zheng (BISB Graduate Student), Student Chair
  • Sheng Zhong (Bioengineering), BNFO 281 Instructor
  • Hratch Matthew Baghdassarian (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Bahar Behsaz (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Andrey Bzikadze (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Jonathan Pekar (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Jesse Joseph Solvason (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Cynthia Wu (BISB Graduate Student)
  • Carol Kling (BISB Staff)
  • Done in conjunction with members of the Genetics Training Program
  • Stephania Hadimulia (Institute for Genomic Medicine Staff)

Diversity Outreach and Recruitment Team

Enhance diversity within the Program and beyond in the field.

  • Vineet Bafna (Computer Science and Engineering), Faculty Diversity Officer
  • Irene Jacobo, Staff Diversity Officer
  • Jade Hermes, Program Coordinator
  • Faculty Mentors
  • Student Ambassadors

Fellowship Committee

Nominate students for fellowships.
Find and publicize fellowships of interest to students in the program.
Hold seminars to help students apply for fellowships.

  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology), Committee Chair
  • Nathan Lewis (Pediatrics)
  • Prashant Mali (Bioengineering)

Graduate Bioinformatics Council

Graduate student leadership committee.
Organizes the BISB Exchange, monthly social hours, and other events.

  • Daniela Nachmanson, President
  • Michelle Ragsac, Director of Internal Affairs
  • Nancy Yuan, Director of External Affairs
  • Jennifer Havens, Director of Outreach
  • Clarence Mah, Director of Development
  • Owen Chapman, Director of Onboarding
  • Cynthia Wu, Director of Finance
  • Jonathan Pekar, Director of Student Wellness

Admissions Committee

Fall 2020 application cycle.

  • Hannah Carter (Division of Medical Genetics), Committee Chair
  • Glenn Tesler (Mathematics), Committee Co-chair
  • Ludmil Alexandrov (Cellular and Molecular Medicine)
  • Vikas Bansal (Pediatrics)
  • Christopher Benner (School of Medicine)
  • Lukas Chavez (School of Medicine)
  • Emma Farley (Biological Sciences)
  • Terry Gaasterland (Marine Biology)
  • Rodney Gabriel (School of Medicine)
  • Kyle Gaulton (Pediatrics)
  • Alon Goren (School of Medicine)
  • Melissa Gymrek (Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Olivier Harismendy (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Sven Heinz (School of Medicine)
  • Michael Hogarth (School of Medicine)
  • Albert Hsiao (Radiology)
  • Wendy Huang (Cellular and Molecular Medicine)
  • Jejo Koola (School of Medicine)
  • Tsung-Ting Kuo (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Louise Laurent (Reproductive Medicine)
  • Nathan Lewis (Pediatrics)
  • Amit Majithia (School of Medicine)
  • Graham McVicker (Salk Institute for Biological Sciences)
  • Jill Mesirov (School of Medicine)
  • Shamim Nemati (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado (Biomedical Informatics)
  • Debashis Sahoo (Pediatrics)
  • Jonathan Sebat (School of Medicine)
  • Pablo Tamayo (School of Medicine)
  • Wei Wang (Chemistry and Biochemstry)
  • Joel Wertheim (School of Medicine)
  • Elizabeth Winzeler (Pediatrics)
  • Gene Yeo (Cellular and Molecular Medicine)
  • Sheng Zhong (Bioengineering)
  • Jonathan Pekar (Graduate Student)